More or less

I played last nite with a B-3 organ and a jazz guitar player all old guys we did very well and another player stopped in and played the B-3. This guy plays with one of the best drummers in the area and the drummer is very busy on ths drums. I wish I could play that way but I lack that style I just play straight rythmn with just a very strong after beat. I can only do what works for me and I started playing in the late 50,s no lessons just practice.
I guess how I played worked well just not fancy, but lots of FUN. jz,

groove1

Silver Member
I love B3 groups and have played with quite a few over the decades, but not recently. Along the way I got to know both Richard "Groove" Holmes and Jack McDuff quite well (but didn't
play with them). Jack loved Joe Dukes on drums. Groove swung so hard any drummer would have to fall into his pocket. As an aside, I once saw Groove with Gene Ammons, Sonny Stitt and Dexter Gordon each on tenor...all 3 of them playing with Groove! I get goosebumps remembering it! I can tell you that a lot of B3 players I know and knew loved Joe Dukes for organ band drums.

When I played with B3 groups (or any group for that matter), I just try to be tasteful, nudge
the soloists, and keep things swinging...it's gotta cook. I like just enough without it becoming too much. A balance with teasing. Dang, I miss the B3 days.

Lastly, I heard Shelly Manne with Jimmy Smith in late 60's southern California. It burned!
Gotta love Shelly playing with any group!

Very cool you got to play with a B3 recently.

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
We all have different capabilities and playing preferences, and apply them differently. Except in extreme cases, most music doesn't require a lot of technical fireworks to sound good. Often, it's refreshing for other players who've been used to a busy drummer, to hear more economic playing.