Mind went blank... help.

That Guy

Platinum Member
Today I was talking with a friend of mine and he brought up the topic of drumming. Already knowing that I'm a drummer he mentioned that he thinks his son wants to get into it. He mentioned the usual tell-tale signs of a kid who wants to drum, banging on everything and air drumming to music. His son is 13 and has never touched a drum in his life.. and he feels that his son has a bit of natural rhythm from listening to him.

He said that he wanted to see if there was anything that he could do to find out if his son really wants to learn or if its just a stage he is going through. I told him that he needed to "jump on it right away" cuz if its something that this boy desires it might help to give him some direction, cuz it appears he is starting to go down the wrong street.

He mentioned that he couldn't afford lessons at the moment and wanted to know if there were any books or DVD's that could teach him the very basics so he would have a good foundation. This is where my mind went totally blank. I tried to think of some book or DVD that could strip things down and get to the basics of notation, sticking and proper technique... but I couldn't. So, I told him to give me about a day or two and I would come back with a few suggestions. I also gave him the web-address of Drummerworld and suggested that he and his son check it out along with the forum.

I can't believe I drew a blank and I'm still dumbfounded. All of the books and DVD's that I love are intermediate to advanced and I don't know of anything elementary.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

Deathmetalconga

Platinum Member