Me = Sloppy?

MoreCowbell!!

Hi, i have a problem. When i record myself on my Roland TD-9 and then listen back on it, i always find myself playing/sounding sloppy. Am i really that sloppy or am i just paranoid?

Ps. I am 13 and i have been playing for 4 years.

eddiehimself

Platinum Member
soundclips?

What you find with recording is the first time you do it, you realise that you're actually a lot less tight then you think you are. The sort of "is my voice REALLY that high!!!??" effect. It should help because if you record yourself enough times you get to a point where you start to listen out for the little problems in your playing so you can hopefully iron them out and become a much tighter player as a result. Or you're just paranoid.

DrumART Jim

Hi, i have a problem. When i record myself on my Roland TD-9 and then listen back on it, i always find myself playing/sounding sloppy. Am i really that sloppy or am i just paranoid?

Well, you know what they say -- the tape don't lie! Or in this case, the microprocessor-based digital midi recorder. That said, it's the best news you can hear. Identifying your weaknesses is the only way to address them. Another bit of good news -- the TD-9 has a metronome. :)

mrchattr

Gold Member
At your age, and with your very limited playing experience, I would be shocked if you weren't sloppy. Don't feel bad about it, though...use that TD-9 to get less sloppy! Listening to recordings and working on the things that are bad is the easiest way to get better. Also, get a teacher. Having an older, experienced drummer that is able to listen objectively and help you fix your weak spots will have you playing less sloppy in no time!

Good luck and keep on playing!

Richard.J

What does your Teacher say about your playing?

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
The recorder doesn't lie, however your perception of your own tightness is sometimes over confident. Congratulations on discovering the best improvement tool ever, the recorder.

larryace