Mapex M Birch Kit

Surfddue

Fellow drummers

I have been playing the drums for quite some yeas now and I'm looking to buy a new drum kit, second-hand. I found a Mapex M Birch Kit which seems like a nice kit but I have no experience with it at all. Is this a decent drum kit and would you recommend buying it?

Thanks in advance!

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member
Is it a new kit or used kit? What is the price? Have you played it and do you like the sound? All of that would help us help you with your questions.

wildbill

Platinum Member
You might want to dig around here a little for more info:
https://www.officialdrummer.com/forum/forum/8-m-birch/

I think they're an OK kit. They haven't been made for a while.
You didn't give a lot of info - like do you have drums now, have you had them before, what are you planning to use them for, do you have size or finish preferences, how much is the kit going for, what kind of budget do you have and so on.

JustJames

Platinum Member
Last year I bought an M Birch kit to replace my early 90's Pearl Exports. It was a small upgrade in terms of sound, but I scored nicer hardware and drum bags in the move....and the Mapex drums look way cooler (if cheerfully lairy is your thing.

My thread about the kit I bought is here and the obligatory deliberations thread is here

I don't regret the move at all, but I also know that sooner or later I will be moving on to something better.

With G2 clears over G1 clears the toms sound nicely alive.

Surfddue

First of all, thank you for answering!

At the moment I have a Pearl Target, a basic set, but I feel like I have improved enough to upgrade and expand my set.

I am considering to buy this set because it has an 8" tom, which I really like. It's a second-hand set, the seller is asking €1500. I was looking to spend €1200 but the set comes with a lot of cymbals, double bass (2x22") and a Pearl rack.