Making a Movie about the Drums

Hi, I am a young film Director.
I am currently making a film centering around a girl that uses drumming as a coping mechanism for the loss of her mother. I have a few questions regarding the drumming.
Here is the funding page, where you can find out more about 'Drumsticks' Any donations would be amazing:
-I am a novice drum player, however will be using experienced drummers as the actors, is there any advice you guys have for my direction/anything I should learn before filming?
-I intend to film a major sequence (a drum battle) like a Rocky fight scene, any thoughts on how to achieve this?
-The film will be made for you guys - the audience. Drum players experienced and novice alike, music fans, and film fans - is there anything you guys would love to see in a drumming film or is there anything in the concept you can relate to?

(images from a test shoot)
FB_IMG_1577038413116.jpgFB_IMG_1577038401611.jpg
Thanks.
Nathan

So is this like a fiction story with a plot or a real story about therapeutic drumming and treating mental/stress issues? Is this Whiplash for girls-can I play the mean SOB instructor who verbally and physically assaults students (a dream come true-just kidding??). Or I can be the competition in drum off who gets beat-but I'll bleed a lot and put up a good show before falling apart and then being destroyed in the competition. I'll be demoralized the instructor will beat me senseless for losing too sort of like Karate kid. It'll be epic. Short don't sound good-I need time to develop my character-it can't just be a shallow bad guy-but a bad guy with a story so his loss is bitter sweet with the heroine. Give us DW forum members leeway in plot development and you'll win a freaking Oscar. And best sound track.

Documentary or fictional short film?

Get the best possible location sound mixer you can afford. That's 50% of your story. If your target audience is musicians the sound better be spot on.