Macbook, Motu 8pre, mics - then what?

Zorlee

Hi everyone!
I really want to start recording and composing music in my up and coming home recording studio. It won't be too fancy, but hopefully it'll do the trick.
I'm a complete beginner at this, but I have the following gear:

- Macbook 2,4 ghz, 2gb ram
- Motu 8pre audio interface
- Mics: Shure sm57, Audix D6 and 2x Studio Projects B1
- Cables + Stands
- Old school midi-keyboard

Now, I really want to be able to record good sounding drums + be able to compose and create music using a midi-controller and a good software with many possibilities.
Now I'm wondering - what gear do I need the most? Should I buy a software (I'm really thinking about Ableton Live), a new midi-keyboard or some studio-monitors?

I would really love to have a software where I could either record something using drums or midi-controller OR program it using music notes - is that possible? Without using the awfulsounding midi-sounds from for example Finale?

Okey, a bit too much information here, maybe! But please - help me out here, I just want to record AND compose music that is good sounding, with many sound possibilities!
Thank you guys so much for your help!

Zorlee...

PS: I might get a good deal on a pair of Alesis M1 MKII monitors - is this worth the investment? What say you? =)

M

Mediocrefunkybeat

The kit sounds good. Definitely. The 8Pre is a great interface and everything else is solid.

One slight concern. I'm not sure if the 8Pre is a firewire or USB interface. The new Macbooks don't have a firewire port, so just double check.

The Alesis monitors are OK, but if you can get a deal on anything slightly better it might be worth it. KRK make great monitors, as do Yamaha.

Zorlee

The kit sounds good. Definitely. The 8Pre is a great interface and everything else is solid.

One slight concern. I'm not sure if the 8Pre is a firewire or USB interface. The new Macbooks don't have a firewire port, so just double check.