ludwig supraphonic 402 vs sonor d-506 snare drum

rdon45

i have the sonor d-506 "6 1/4 x 14" chrome snare which i love,,,looking to pick up a supra but im hearing that my snare is like a supra on steroids,,so im debating if i really need to purchase one or not,,i will say the sonor is a kickin snare,,i did install the 42 strand which i like,,has anyone compared these two snares ??? thanks,,

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
The Sonor is a steel shell, yeah? Whereas the Luddy is aluminium. Both seamless shells as far as I can gather, but I'd expect the Sonor to be slightly harsher, colder and lend itself to more overtones, given that that is the nature of steel shells.

I have no experience with the Sonor though, so am basing my opinion on what I know of steel shells in general and what I've read about the D506 on the net. I ran across the "Supra on steroids" line myself, but given the difference in shell materials I'm not sure how such an easy comparison can be made. Steel does not sound like aluminium and vice versa......they are not the same drum. So if you think you'll get use out of both, then why not. Variety is the spice of life, so they say and the Supra will serve you well. I've always loved my 402.

rdon45

the sonor d-506 actually has a ferro-manganese steel shell,, i appreciate your input,,,just was wondering how they stack up to each other,,thanks,,

MikeM

Platinum Member
As PFOG already pointed out, the 402 is aluminum and will sound like aluminum. That is to say that it won't sound like steel or ferro-manganese steel. It also won't sound like brass, bronze, copper, or any of the woods.