Ludwig snare thoughts Black Beauty or Hammered Bronze

Robzildjian

Ludwig friends,

I’m a British drummer and long term ludwig fan, I have a 6.5 depth ludwig black beauty smooth shell snare. It is a new model and I really like the sound. I recently bought a 1984 6.5 hammered bronze supra. The bronze drum sounds absolutely fantastic. Rich, complex and with a great pop. I am very surprised that the bronze Drum sounds so much better than what I thought was an excellent Drum in the B.B. has anyone else experienced this? Interested in views on comparisons between these two drums. I wondering whether to sell the B.B. or keep both for different circumstances.

Groov-E

Silver Member
Ludwig friends,

I’m a British drummer and long term ludwig fan, I have a 6.5 depth ludwig black beauty smooth shell snare. It is a new model and I really like the sound. I recently bought a 1984 6.5 hammered bronze supra. The bronze drum sounds absolutely fantastic. Rich, complex and with a great pop. I am very surprised that the bronze Drum sounds so much better than what I thought was an excellent Drum in the B.B. has anyone else experienced this? Interested in views on comparisons between these two drums. I wondering whether to sell the B.B. or keep both for different circumstances.
I would keep it for a while just to be certain. There will always be a market for BB's as they are possibly the most popular snare drums around. As they have a different sound, you may regret selling down the line.

WallyY

Platinum Member
Back around '84-'85 I bought a 6.5 hammered bronze Supra.
I compared it to the BB and preferred the bronze, so I bought it and still have it.

I might prefer BB now, or not. I haven't compared the two in 30 years, but I remember myself thinking the BB had an offending high pitch ring that the bronze didn't have. The bronze has a lot of soul.

jbonzo1

Silver Member
Keep both.