Ludwig Jazzette 1967 - Bass Drum ID

jazzmann

Hello folks. First off, I'll stress that this is and always has been a players kit, so not one for the collectors.

I'm after some help on the bass drum if possible. I'm no expert on vintage drums but I believe drummers ocassional had smaller bass drums custom made to match as these smaller bass drums may have more difficult to pick up compared to the larger bass drums. What I'm questioning.. is it definitely a Ludi made bass drum, or a custom matched bass drum from the same era. I'm pretty sure it is a Ludi, but the finish is slightly more glossy than both toms, so...

The floor tom and 12x8 are both date stamped 1967 and have corresponding keystone badges; no problem there.
The bass drum, I'm told is an original match, and to me the shell looks original.
The chap I bought it from, at some point wanted to make it more usuable (which I get - it's a players kit, not a museum peice), and had a Pearl tom mount and bass drums legs fitted.
The bass drum has been spun around so the original batter side is now the reso (evidenced by the original spur drill holes).
There are no grommets holding the badges on the three drums, so I think the bass drum keystone badge may have fallen off at some stage, replaced with a random '70's blue/olive, fitted in the opposite direction to how the original badge would have been fitted because the drum has been spun 180 degress.
The older holes under the Pearl mount are presumambly from a rail mount which would have been on the kit originally.
The bass drum finish is slightly more glossy than the two toms, so I figure it could possibly have had a coat at the same time as the other work.

Maybe someone better informed give me a bit of extra info?
Cheers in advance.

Attachments

• 2021-06-06 14.44.00.jpg
    2021-06-06 14.44.00.jpg
    400.6 KB · Views: 19
  • 2021-06-06 14.44.44.jpg
    2021-06-06 14.44.44.jpg
    470 KB · Views: 15
  • 2021-06-06 14.46.48.jpg
    2021-06-06 14.46.48.jpg