Ludwig 6.5x14 Blacrolite vs 6.5x14 Supraphonic

tryggdahl

I'm really digging the dry, hard crack of a 6 1/2" deep aluminum drum. The question I have is: Is there a huge difference in sound between the Black Sparkle Acrolite 6.5" and the Supraphonic 6.5"? They're both made with a seamless aluminum shell, both have 10 lugs. None of my local stores have any Acrolites in stock....and the pitting issue with the Supraphonic bugs me. Argh.

Last edited:

Drummertist

Silver Member
I thought the Acrolites had 8 lugs...
EDIT: Never mind, just looked...it does have 10 lugs. I would think the sound would be a negligible difference. What intrigues me is why is the 6.5" supra $400 while the 6.5" acro is only $275. Are the shell thicknesses or hoops different? Bearing edges?

We need a hero! We need a Drummerworld member! We need...RogerLudwig!

Last edited:

tryggdahl

I'm fairly new to drumming, could you please explain what "internal muffling" is? I actually kinda like the black sparkle finish on the Acrolite.

CASP3Rdrummer

I've heard and read on here that the chrome tends to pit and flake off of aluminum drums.
i've read that the new ones don't have that issue... i've been reading about this snare cause i'm quite interested. i'm also really confused because i never thought a metal drum could be more used than a wooden...

chocorion

Internal muffling is basically a felt pad that can be turned on and off inside the drum via a knob on the outside of the shell below the hoop. Billy Gladstone snares have an AWESOME looking internal muffling system. www.langpercussion.com does replica gladstone snare drums since billy is no longer around (he passed in 1961). I've never heard them, but from pictures the quality looks great.

DrewTheShoe

Vintage Acrolite. If you really want to Black Galaxy, you can just get a USED one then, since that finish came out a little later.

But seriously check out eBay for Acrolites... They'll be just as good, and SO much cheaper.