Looking for first kit

Drivelikebrazil

Hello, I'm just getting started into drumming and am looking into picking up my first kit. I've been looking around on craigslist and at the local guitar center and have found a few things. Basically, I want to keep the cost down as low as I can without ending up with a kit that I can't stand the sound of. I've found a few Pearl Export kits on craigslist around the $450-550 range most with low-end cymbals. At guitar center I've seen a few Export shell sets for around 200-250, a Mapex Tornado 5pc for $150, and a Mapex M Birch for $350. Assuming that these are in good condition, what would be the best bang for buck purchase?

larryz

Platinum Member
Hi there and welcome. Best bang in my opinion is Yamaha Stage Customs which can be had for $300-400 used. Definitely a better quality kit than those you have mentioned. Good luck.

slowrocker

Silver Member
The mapex m should be a nice set for that. Like Larry said stage customs are pretty nice and you can also find some nice pdp's for the price.

BlakeN70

Hi there and welcome. Best bang in my opinion is Yamaha Stage Customs which can be had for $300-400 used. Definitely a better quality kit than those you have mentioned. Good luck.
I agree with larryz. The Stage Customs are great kits.

leecho7

I have to agree with the majority of folks here, the Yamaha Stage Customs are great.
I had the pleasure of playing several of them for various churches, and they seem to be the backbone of a majority of church praise teams in my area.
However, with the right heads and tuning, these drums are great for a variety of applications. I much prefer these over the Exports.
But in the end, its down to your own preference. If its possible to try them before purchasing, that's what I'd recommend.

Soupy

Silver Member