Looking for decent overhead condenser mics

I_needausername

Hey all,

I’m new to recording. I’ve never mic’d my setup before and I’m looking for some advice. I don’t need anything that’ll break the bank, but I’d like something that’ll last me a while with good quality. I’ve done quite a bit of research and I’ve settled on Shure SM-57’s for my snares, Shure Beta 52A for bass, and Sennheisser e604’s for my toms. In all my research, I haven’t found an overhead equivalent to these other mics. Can anyone help me out? I’d like to use the mics for both home studio stuff as well as live gigs. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

Morrisman

Platinum Member
Rode NT5’s are excellent as overheads.
The cheaper M5’s are surprisingly good too. They make a bit more self noise, but compared to drum kit volume it will be inaudible.

OSDrums

^ What Supergrobi said! The Octavas are very good for studio use (not only overheads, acoustic guitars, piano, percussion, you name it). They are not overly sharp in the highs which separates them from most other mics in their pricerange. For live they are useable with fine results if the tech knows his job.

johnjssmith

Entirely depends on your budget - "without breaking the bank" might mean anything from $100 per pair to $300 per single mic.
"Good quality" is quite subjective as well, so having an idea of what your budget is would be helpful.
Also consider that you'll need a full fledged audio interface for recording (unless you're fine with being able to record 2 channels at a time), do you own one already?

And a couple other considerations - is the space you'll be recording in treated, or does it sound good on its own?
If it doesn't then you won't be able to get good recordings no matter how much you spend, so it's worth it to maybe just buy a couple mics to start with, instead of a whole set with snare, bd and tom mics as well, and invest in a bit of acoustic treatment.
Also, will you be recording other things or just drums?