Looking for advice on picking a drum set

Islandjimmy

Hi All,

New guy here. I am looking to buy a drum kit. I have played drums in the past but nothing serious. I am the type who does a ton of research when I am getting into something, and so far, as far as drums go, I am looking for a 4 or 5 piece kit, lacquer finish, not a laminate, preferably maple, and I would like toms that are not shallow, but rather deep. So far, I am down to Mapex, Yamaha, or Tama. Again, I am new to this and this is where I am up to this point of my research. My budget is not that high. I am looking for used drums and I would like to stay under $1000 for the entire kit including cymbals and sturdy robust hardware. Ultimately my question is this: is there a particular year, model, a "sweet spot" that I should be looking for that fits my search criteria? I have seen a Mapex kit from the past,that was all maple with a lacquer finish but I haven't found any used. I just missed one though on Craigslist. I was too late and it got purchased within a couple days after it was posted. I think it was a Mapex M series Maple. Thank you for any input you have.

Jimmy

Push pull stroke

Platinum Member
Spend about $500 on drums and hardware together, and the rest on cymbals. You’ll get way better value used. Keep an eye on Craigslist and eBay. Post anything that seems like a really good deal here, we’ll let you know if it’s worth it.

Also check out Facebook Marketplace -- some amazing deals on there, along with a ton of not amazing deals -- and maybe OfferUp.

EricT43