KISS

I have been playing the drums on and off for over 40 years.

I have played I several bands throughout the years and I jam with the guys on occasion.

When I first started plying I was basically self-taught accept for a few lessons from friends that were taking lessons and a few times at Westchester school of music in White Plains New York. (Easy Breezy).

I got along with playing single strokes around the drums never used any rudiments like the paradiddle or combinations thereof.

I knew how to do them well but didn’t know how to apply them to a drum set. Well about 10 or so years ago I bought myself another second hand drum set fixed it up and started to play again. However, this time I concentrated on using, and /or abusing the paradiddle and combos of around the drums.

Now I am so good at it I slip the paradiddle into my regular drum beats so often that I feel now that it is an obsession.

Now don’t get me wrong I still use single strokes when necessary but I have a habit of putting in little paradiddle fills to jazz up the riff out of boredom I guess, or just because I can, it is fun and I think it sounds good.

I also use lots of ghost beats on the snare and the bass drum especially on the bass drum when I am coming off the head I sneak one beat in as my foot is coming up, sort of what Jeff Porcaro dose with his half time shuffle. (Rosanna). I heard it called a YAW beat

I guess what I’m saying is that I do this because I think it sounds better than just a strait beat and as long as I can shut it off for songs that really do not need fancy stuff then is there any harm in it? My guitar player has issues with it even though as I’m doing these fills my HI hat is always playing the same beat my left hand would play so as I don’t leave him out on a limb.
Should I keep it simple?

Thanks
Lou

KamaK

Platinum Member