Just curious....

BigBelly

I've been drumming now for about two years and damn near everything I know is self taught by way of listening, reading, watching video's, etc. I would love to take lessons but have given the extra money I have to my 7 year old son for his drum lessons.

Last night a buddy of mine came over to the house and the idea was for us to try and teach each other (he has about a year or so more experience). It was a great time but I really found out just how much I don't know! I have spent all of my time listening to songs and breaking them down by "feel", never understanding time signatures. When he played something or did an exercise, I could figure it out and was able to play it but then he'd ask me a question about timing and it was like he was speaking a whole 'nuther language!!!

I woke up this morning and went in my drum room and played for about 30 minutes but quickly lost interest as I realized that even though what I am playing sounds decent, deep down, I have no idea what the hell I am playing or why this hit is here and that hit is there...

I suddenly have this huge desire to have a much deeper understanding of drumming but without a teacher I am left to figure this stuff out on my own. Forget playing songs for now, how do I start to really understand drumming?

T

TFITTING942

You actually took the first step by doing that with you friend. I would contine to share ideas with other drummers. People may say things about music theory but dont waste your time going down road. It wont translate into tangible playing. Keep plugging along, maybe look into what your son is doing with his beginner lessons.

toddbishop

Platinum Member