Jazz bass drum pedal

Auspicious

Hello everyone,

I am a self taught.. drummer, apprentice, I tool my kit out of the boxes lately after a good music discussion we had in another forum. I like jazz very much and this is why I bought the drum kit in the first place, to practice jazz as a hobby. I have a 4 piece kit Catalina Club Jazz with a 22" K , a 17" Turkish and 13" K hi hats. My bass drum is 18 inches with a power stroke 3 front head.

I am here today because I have problems with the bass drum pedal

I don't know if the pedal itself is the problem or if it's me.. but it seems like it is not responding fast enough.. it's not responding and I already find it stiff more then enough.. the spring is at the lowest tension.. I wonder if there is another product that would provide better precision and response time to input my triplets around the kit.

In your opinion Is there another better quality product ? a pedal for jazz, which is smooth but responsive, precise, fast but for very soft playing.

This is the pedal.

MntnMan62

See if you can get your hands on a Ludwig Speed King. I used one for years and reallly loved it. Then one day while I was playing something seemed to happen inside and the action was gone. Not being all that handy I resigned myself to buying a new pedal. Since I had always wanted to learn double bass, I bought a double bass pedal. But earlier in my drumming days, more like college days, I played lots of jazz and my Speed King was fantastic. In fact, I now want to take mine apart and see what happened to it and see if I can fix it. I heard Ludwig is re-releasing the Speed King but that hasn't happened yet and I have no way of knowing if it will be identical or have some tweeks to it that makes it play differently. If different translates into better, then maybe it pays to wait for it. Or keep an eye out for a used refurbished one on Reverb or Ebay.

C.M. Jones