It happened to me.

Jhostetler

Holy crap.

It's been a while and life finally happened to me. I stopped playing.

I've heard countless stories of folks who stopped playing for several years for some reason or another. I naively scoffed and said to myself, "That'll never happen to me. I've been playing since I was 8, I'm playing constantly here in college, I'm sure I'll continue to play no matter what." I graduated college May of 2016, got married, started a career, bought a house. My last post in this forum was almost 3 years ago. I realized today that the only playing I've done since I graduated was for my old highschool's musicals once a year. I don't even have a space in my house dedicated to my set, they're currently stacked in a closet in my office. It's incredible how easily life sneaks up on you and how quick I was to stop practicing and set my drums aside.

Lesson learned. It might be time to drag out the kit and make room for them again. And just a warning to those who might also scoff and say "I'll never stop playing," never say never. I hope everyone here does keep playing. And I hope that we freely embrace those that have taken a hiatus.

drumnut87

hey it happens, cant be helped. at least you still have the itch to play and got the hankering to set your kit back up again rather than selling up and stopping completely :)

MntnMan62