Issue with counting!

Chilli78

Hi I am a relatively new drummer. Self taught with guidance from a friend who is a drummer. I was hoping someone can help. I am struggling to play particular beats. I always count when I drum. But the problem is when learning new beats I end up playing what I count. So if I playing 1,and of 2,and of 3,and 4 on the kick. I end not playing 16 notes on high hats. My mind is so preocupied with when I need to hit the kick. I miss notes on highthats. I have limb independence on other beats. But I cant seem to transfer that to all beats. It’s like I have to learn everything again. And I can’t seem to play without counting which was good to start but now it’s slowing my progress. Any ideas how get over this. Many thanks in advance for your responses.

BonsaiMagpie

Honestly man, it's horrible because it's the answer you're gonna hear forever on the drums. Slow it down and keep playing it til you can.

Just last week I had a beat to play that i couldn't. Slowed it down and played for hours til I could. It was simple as hell, but my hands wouldn't do it. I'd either play the ride on the &s or I would miss the 4. Practice, practice, practice. :(
1&2&3&4&
RideXXXX
SnareX
TomXXX
KickXX

danondrums

Honestly man, it's horrible because it's the answer you're gonna hear forever on the drums. Slow it down and keep playing it til you can.

Just last week I had a beat to play that i couldn't. Slowed it down and played for hours til I could. It was simple as hell, but my hands wouldn't do it. I'd either play the ride on the &s or I would miss the 4. Practice, practice, practice. :(
1&2&3&4&
RideXXXX
SnareX
TomXXX
KickXX
That’s a really cool way to communicate a groove. And also helpful advice for sure.

MrInsanePolack

Platinum Member
Yeah, I too was impressed with the drum tab format. Haven't seen that before--very clear.