Is this conflicting info on Moeller?

One1

Chapin asserts in his video [3] that the technique does not rely on the rebound - that the drummer must master the hand motion while playing each note as an actual stroke,

yet this says:

The Moeller Method utilizes stick bounce. So the trick to this technique is getting the most bounces from one stroke.

So, as someone who is not great at Moeller Technique and trying to get better at it, is this not conflicting statements? Since I don’t have it down pat I’m assuming I’ve not understood the technique properly, and I HAVE always used the rebound to help me achieve the desired effect - which has me thinking that’s why I’m not good at it after reading this.

MrPockets

Gold Member
I think was he meant by not relying is that rebound isn't the main source of the stroke. Hand position is a more important part of the stroke.

Push pull stroke

Platinum Member
Chapin was well-known among working drummers way back in the day for folding up napkins and showing off his rudiments on them at clubs during breaks. So he clearly cited do all that stuff with very little rebound.

cornelius

Silver Member
What confused me was 36:50 (to 38:00) here

The prerequisite to learning Moeller is mastering the Free Stroke. When you get the feeling of the Free Stroke in your hands, you'll really understand the true feeling of rebound. When Jim mentions "stop at the top" that is the best example of letting the stick do the work. In other words, you allow the stick to come back up to where you started, instead of only letting the stick rebound half way, then having to wind up by lifting the stick up higher to get to your previous starting point. That's wasted motion, the only time you have the stick rebound lower, is if you need to bring down the dynamics.