Introduction of a mediocre drummer

Rippou

One of the two stories goes "Self-taught drummer based in Istanbul playing for 20 years, who incorporates rudimentary rhythms with local textures and explores the instrument from a story telling perspective. Starting as a rock drummer and moving towards jazz after the first decade, Rippou is currently featuring in a free jazz sax-drums duo offering familiar pulses through the rhythm of the chaotic city."

The other more genuine story is that I am a mediocre drummer who played in high school bands doing rock covers for 5 years, stopped playing for 10 years to pursue my studies and trying to kickstart my career, ended up in a rather depressed state about my pursuits in life and got back into playing for the past 5 years.

My drumming history is basically getting bad habits for the first 5 years of playing to be able to play in a band as fast as possible, and me trying to fix those bad habits for the last 5 years. In an effort to provide a clean state after my hiatus I started working on traditional grip to break things up mentally, but for the past 5 months put that approach to shelf and have been back playing mostly with German and French grip.

I have been really fascinated with jazz and especially Bill Evans, and for the past 5 years I tried to set up my practice mostly for jazz playing, though what I actually play in my duo isn't really traditional jazz. As a result my studies do not really incorporate into my playing well and both my playing and the duo seems extremely stagnant. Losing my head and questioning what I should play in free form without sounding stationary results in the very stationary sound I try to avoid, and if I get too lost I hide behind my rudimentary practice which makes everything sound even more ordinary and uninteresting.