Intensity in Jazz

jsam530

Hey everyone!

I'm new to this forum and am very excited to apart of such a great community!

I'm a drummer attending the Berklee College of Music in Boston. I'm currently taking the Music of Charles Mingus ensemble and am having some problems meeting the demands of the ensemble. The teacher is constantly asking the ensemble (mainly me) to bring more intensity to the music. I don't want to start bashing cymbals or get super loud, because I don't consider that very musical. Has anyone ever had this problem? It's jazz music, so I'm trying to play with touch and feel, but it's not translating the way I want it too. I think because I'm trying to play with touch, the teacher is assuming that it means that I'm not feeling it or into the music. This is not the case... I'm just trying to support the best I can.

So I guess my question is... how do I practice creating more intensity in my jazz playing? I've been really listening to some of the hard bop guys (Art Blakey, Elvin Jones, Dannie Richmond) but it's not translating.

I would appreciate any advice!

Jeff

birks10

Hey Jeff,