In-Ear Monitors

TheDrumster

Any suggestions on a cost effective system? I've never used one before so I'm not sure what's involved. What do I need and what can I expect to pay for a decent system? By decent, I mean good sound quality but not over paying for diminishing returns.

bermuda

Drummerworld Pro Drummer - Administrator
Staff member
The first question is, what will you be using them for? There are various levels of quality, coordination, and expense involved with monitors.

Proper in-ears are custom molded for high isolation, and those costs vary widely, usually by how many elements are in each earpiece (compare to the woofer, midrange and tweeter in a speaker enclosure.) Most in-ears today have at least 2 elements.

There are Shure and other so-called in-ears that are little more than expensive ear buds with a foam piece that serves as partial isolation.

Isolation is important, because it governs how effective your mix is. In other words, it's just as important to block certain sounds, as it is to hear them, in order to control the mix. A good mix is absolutely crucial to a good performance and comfort level, so do consider isolation as a factor when choosing in-ears.

And by "system", do you mean the transmitter & receiver, or are you plugging into the existing hardware? (mixer, existing receiver/beltpack?)

Most musicians who need in-ears own just the molds themselves, not any other related gear (unless they happen to have ownership the p.a.) so hopefully, you'll just need to invest in the molds (in ears.)

More info about your specific needs will help with the answers you seek.

Bermuda

Blisco

The Shure PSM-200 has served me well for nearly 10 years. It's wired so it's pretty cost effective. We have our own PA, so I always get a send for just my mix.

I went with custom molds after 6 years and wished I had done it sooner. The only way to go. Foam tips won't get the job done i.e. isolation.