Igoe's Groove Essentials - swing not in triplets?

alex_sh

Hello all,

I've been learning to play drums for a couple of months now and for the last month I've been using Tommy Igoe's Groove Essentials 1 book/CD (which is a great book, btw).

As far as I know (from various sources), that jazz swing pattern is played by playing triplets, playing only the first stroke on 1 and 3, and not playing the middle one on 2 and 4 (not sure if I'm saying it correctly, but I get the idea).

Now I'm in the jazz section of the GE book and what surprised me is that the ride pattern is written as quarter notes and eighth notes (instead of eighth note triplets). Is that correct? Incidentally, I stumbled upon a review at amazon.com that criticized the book for exactly the same thing (which was surprising at the time, considering how high the product rating is).
Also, what I don't understand about comping motifs - should I line up e.g. the snare parts to the ride cymbal swing, or should I play them exactly as written?

Thanks in advance,
Alexander

PQleyR

Platinum Member
It could just be written like that for simplicity's sake, I know a lot of the time when music is typically always swung, the swing isn't necessarily written just because it makes it a lot easier to read. I would imagine that's the reason if it isn't explicitly stated otherwise.

toddbishop

Platinum Member
Swing is actually a way of interpreting 8th notes, so the notation in the book is correct. Just play the &s late- on (or close to) the last part of the triplet, as you described. That interpretation doesn't hold at every tempo or feel, or for every drummer, though, and it's not correct to say that swing is based on triplets.

MLdrum

As stated above me, swing is a way of interpreting 8notes. And for the comping motifs, they should
sort of line up with the ride cymbal. But the idea is keeping the ride and hihat going in their respective