I want to start recording the drums.... Outboard preamp necessary?

organworthyplayer337

I have been a musician for years and began recording and "producing" a few years ago. Because of that, I have some limited experience with audio recording and engineering. I have never recorded a drum kit before so I hopped on here in hopes of receiving some guidance.

I started playing drums not too long ago and would like to get some practice recording drums while I learn. I am going to get a Shure PGA 7 Piece Mic Kit to start with (https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/PGADrumPack--shure-pga-drum-kit-7-complete-package), and I already have an SM57 that I can add once I get my head on straight if I want.

As for an interface, I am trying to land a Focusrite Clarett 8Pre (https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Clar8PreUSB--focusrite-clarett-8pre-usb-18x20-audio-interface).

Question:
Should I be fine to run the mics straight into the interface or is an outboard preamp super important for drum recording?

My budget is a little tight right now, so factoring in a preamp would be difficult. I guess what I'm asking is; should I expect a decent drum recording w/o an outboard mic pre? A lot of the home recordings I hear in, say, drum demos is what I am going for, nothing too "professional" sounding. If I get the hang of recording drums (or playing drums for that matter hahaha), I would probably add one to my rig later on, but for the time being, I am hoping I can get by without one.

Any help/advice./guidance would be greatly appreciated,

Thanks!

Bo Eder

Platinum Member
No. You do not need additional preamps. The Focusrite preamps are really pretty good.