i need ideas for a quicker load in/out

no talent

Hey guys, for a small venue we frequently play, i have downsized to a bass and snare, one cymbal stand with an 18 crash ride and an x-hat attachment. the problem is, it took me 3 trips to load in basically nothing. I have a cymbal bag, a throne bag, a snare bag, pedal/stick bag, snare stand, cymbal stand, and the bass drum..any ideas how to make this work with less trips? the bass is only a 12x18. a cart, which i own is out of the question, stairs at every entrance and a tight walk to the band area. for the life of me i cant figure out what im doing wrong to make this many trips for so little gear.

caddywumpus

Platinum Member
Consolidate your bags. Somehow, I manage to carry my 4 piece kit in one trip nowadays. :)

Here's what I would do, if I were you:

All hardware in ONE bag/case: snare stand, cymbal stand, high hat stand, pedal, throne. Either get a larger suitcase or a duffel bag that can carry ALL of them. Carry this in one hand, or over one shoulder.

Bags for your bass drum and snare drum: so you can carry them both in the other hand.

Cymbal backpack bag: also, put your sticks/brushes in there.

opentune

Platinum Member
1 cymbal bag with backpack like straps
or 1 snare bag with backpack like straps
all hardware (throne too) downsized to fit in one duffle bag that goes over the shoulder.

So ....2 free hands for bass drum, with cymbals or snare on your back, and hardware bag over shoulder.
Max 2 trips, possiblly only 1 if you're the strong guy you appear to be.

Mongrel

Silver Member
Consolidate your bags. Somehow, I manage to carry my 4 piece kit in one trip nowadays. :)

Here's what I would do, if I were you:

All hardware in ONE bag/case: snare stand, cymbal stand, high hat stand, pedal, throne. Either get a larger suitcase or a duffel bag that can carry ALL of them. Carry this in one hand, or over one shoulder.

Bags for your bass drum and snare drum: so you can carry them both in the other hand.