I need help and serious advice from professional top flight drum teachers...

W

wy yung

Hello.

I have struck trouble while dealing with the family of one of my more serious student's. I need help advice, not on a technical matter, but a personal political one.

First a background so as to help you understand.

I have been teaching a boy for 4 years. He is now 9 years old. From the beginning it was obvious he would do well. Due to his being bored with strictly technical matters over the first 12 months, we focused mainly on grooves. This moved at a very fast rate to the point I began to to incorporate styles that developed independence.

Skip forward and this 9 year old has completed such relatively advancced books such as Mike Clark's Funk drumming. All the David Garibaldi books. Stanton Moore's New Orleans based book. Latin books such as those by Chuck Silverman and Ignacio Beroa etc etc.

This past year we have been focusing on technique for hands and feet and beginning jazz working from Rilety's books and Syncopation.

The father is great and incredibly supportive but is also a hard rock from the 80's fan and has been using old play alongs that the student finished with years ago repeatedly in his daily practice. These grooves, while fine in themselves, have been driving the student mad with sheer boredom. I have tried to urge focus on the more technically demanding works I have been giving him but still 30 minutes alone is devoted to my lessons and what I now believe 90 minutes is devoted to these tired old books.