I need a real judgment on how I play ... ( And advices )

egbt4

Hi everyone .
First of all, sorry for my BAD english ...

So I've been drumming for over 4 years, I'm taking lessons for the last 3 years ( so I was kind of self-taught during one year )
My teacher taught me how to read music, and just the basic technique ( Single and double roll an parradiddle )
So since I could read music, I bought a lot of books and learn plenty of things by myself ...

But here's is the thing : I have NO ONE around me to tell me how I play .

Good ? Bad ? What should I Work on ? Are my ghost notes nice ?
I don't know any drummer in my neighborhood that could answer those question .

I seems to me that there are A LOT of excellent drummers here on this forum ...
I'll take any advice or critique ( of course if they seem ... right . )

Here is a example of what i like to do, this is entirely in 4/4 ( Their are " some " displacement, thank you Rythmic Illusion ... ) and the metronome I'm hearing is set at 65 Bpm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kU1L...xt=C39c9fc2UDOEgsToPDskLUaFFDOYsmMOyH91mcmQfy

Thank you in advance everyone and keep drumming alive !

MarbleGT

I think it sounds good...you're definitely on the right track.

My only advice would be to simply things a bit. It seems like maybe you are trying to do to much.

Get into the groove brutha.

JohnW

Silver Member
Sounds and looks really good to me. It flows really nicely and is a lot more interesting than some solos I've heard.

Just keep doing what you're doing. I don't have a lot to add except to maybe:

-Try keeping the same intensity while playing half your overall volume. Or even less. Then try to pull out accents even higher.

-Most of your hand work seems to be right hand strong. While it works well with most of the open linear phrases, I detect a slight imbalance when you play rolls (double, multiple rebound or buzz) or fast singles. Just more rudimental/Stick Control work to bring your left hand up.