I can't get drum tuning down

Sloop John D

Hello everybody,

I'm a new drummer, and I just can't get tuning down. Everything seems to go fine until I get to the fine tuning part. I get the heads on, I hand tighten all the lugs, then I give each one about 1/4 turn or a 1/2 turn, going directly across for each one. All of this seems to go fine, but when I go around and try to fine tune each side to match, I can't get them even.

Everytime I turn one lug, the two lugs directly next to it change pitch. The lug is always about a whole step higher than the lugs next to it.

Can anyone explain what's going on? Is there something wrong with the head? Have I done something improperly?

Also, how important is it to have each corner completely even with each other? Will it be detrimental to the sound if some of them are slightly off?

harryconway

Platinum Member
Tuning drums doesn't come overnight, easy. Be patient, and you'll get it. If 1/4 and 1/2 turns are getting you too much variation, go to 1/8 turns. Once you get a head space over a particular lug to where you want it to be, leave it alone. Use smaller turning increments on the lower pitched areas. And remember, you can loosen a tension rod, as well. Back off tension, to keep the head pitched where you want it. Watch some video's ..... there are plenty out there. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yl9wgXSfxew Find the approach that works for you.​

konaboy

Pioneer Member
First two questions:

What kind of kit

what heads.

That video Harry posted is and excellent video here are a few others I've found that I like as well.

Also make sure you when you start tuning that you have the drum on a flat surface like a carpet or couch, something that will prevent the other head from resonating so you get the true pitch of the head you are working on. If you notice in the John Good video and the videos below they all do that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mtFjADvzcyA&feature=plcp