Hyenas of the Serengeti?

zambizzi

Platinum Member
Alright...here's a little warm-up, improv clip of me and a new guitar player friend of mine. It starts rather abruptly, sorry - I'm using a crappy little editor here at work to pull out audio samples.

http://www.scientifik.com/mp3/bone_crunching_jam.mp3

Caution: The drums are panned to the left and guitar to the right, not as clean or nice as full stereo sound.

As for me - I've been playing for about 2 yrs. now so helpful criticism is welcome, of course!

This is my Unix bubinga kit WITH the new 14"x6.5" snare. I've got two SM57s overhead and a Beta 52 in the 4" port on the kick. I only have 4 XLR slots on my little mixer so I had to give the guitarist the SM57 I normally mic the snare with. It still comes through pretty well!

Thanks!

That Guy

Platinum Member
You and the guitarist have a nice little piece there. It reminds me of the early stuff from Sabbath. One thing that I really appreciate is when I hear a new drummer keeping time with the hats while on the ride. I'm a stickler for that! I feel that it's necessary in the early stages of drumming and essencial to developing proper time and gooves. I also really enjoyed the pulsing you gave the guitar half way through. On another note, I enjoyed the fact that you didn't use alot of cymbal crashes throughout the entire song. They built up right where they needed to be.

The song definately has alot of promise. I can't wait to revisit it down the road.

drumhead61

Gold Member
Hey Zam you guys sound good...I enjoyed it and listened to it all...all in all a nice little warm up piece. The kit sounds good.

aydee

Platinum Member
Damn Vin, that is some serious improvement since I heard your last mp3.

First off, you time was always good I thought.. but here its specially good. The groove is cooking too. I like it. What I also like is the fact that your fills are very well placed and not over or underdone.....guitarist 'aint too shabby either!