How to tune your drums and decrease that snare buzz?

JTallis

Hello. As most of you may know, I'm a new drummer... in fact some of you might say I've been playing half a year the way I've progressed but only 1 month.

Now getting to the point, how do you tune your drums? I know the heads cannot be wrinkly/creased but how do you know you've got the right sound? Is it just guess work or is there a specific way for it? With guitar... you can tune however you like I suppose... but there are specific tunings most people like to go by. EG: E standard, Drop D... etc etc.

Secondly, how do you rid that nasty snare buzz? The snare buzz is a drummers way I life I suppose... it's nearly always there but for me, it's exceptionally bad! With the silencers on, it's quite unnoticeable, but I just took them off to get a better sound out my floor tom and boom... it's very noticeable, noisy.. and just horrid.

What's the trick guys?

Andy

Administrator
Staff member
Toms http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJ9Unab1OzU
Snare http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qxm3QunDjUs
Kick http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ga8Q12mKYxI

These are a good basic guide to get you started. Once you've tuned your drums a few times, start experimenting. Each drum has at least one sweet spot. You'll learn how to find that later on. For now, just copy Bob's instruction, & take it from there. Tip: Don't worry too much about snare buzz, it's part of the kit sound, & becomes almost obscured in a band mix. If your buzz is excessive, try slacking off the two tension screws either side of the snare wires. Do this both ends of the wires. Half a turn should be enough. Hope you fall in love with drum tuning, it's an important part of a drummer's skillset.

matthew

I just read in a drum tuning book the most important factor that cannot be overlooked in the snare buzz problem is to make sure the snares hang parallel to the bottom head.

moutn them properly then you can start to adjust tuning and tightness of the snares.