How to keep my tempo (rhythm) steady?

Jimlovedrums

I've been playing drums 2 years now (1 year self educated)..Well I can say that I play pretty good..but the problem is that I can't keep it steady...when the fill or brake comes..I go a little slower or a little faster..I rarely practise with the metronome but I play drums almost everyday..This happes because I don't have much experience with the instrument or because I don't practise enough with the metronome?Where did you first managed to play drums without changing/losing the tempo?

Play along with songs or a metronome. There is no secret other than that. Peace and goodwill.

This is going to sound like a broken record but...

Get a metronome. Play to it as much as you possibly can.

Since you mentioned you were self-taught, I would add lessons with a teacher too. Even if it's just a few lessons to get you started on a path. A qualified teacher will be able to prescribe exercises to help you with your time, your hands, etc. It never hurts to have someone examine your technique too.

As others have already stated, a metronome will be one of the best tools you can use to steady your time....
....also others things you can do to help keep time is to use your left foot (hihat) to hold a quarter-note (or eight-note) on the hihat..you can either play the actual pattern on the hihat (using front half of foot) or you can keep the tempo with the heel of foot (using a kind of swiveling pattern, but not actually opening/closing hats)....you can use this to help feel the pulse (i.e., time) of the song you're trying to play..this can help you to lock in the time....