How to compose a drum solo?

soopadook

Hello everyone.

So I've been playing for about 2 years and and 9 months (I'm 15) and would like to do a drum solo for a talent show at school...but my question is, how in the world do i compose a drum solo?

I know this question sounds a bit odd, as the typical answer would be "just do what sounds best to you, let your hands compose it". The problem with that answer is, to me, nothing I do sounds good...I see drummers like Dave Weckl, Steve Gadd, Buddy Rich, Thomas Lang, etc. etc. do crazy drum solos that sound awesome and they change the time signature and stuff...but every time I try to do a drum solo, I have no idea where to start. I have no idea what to do and what sounds good...do you guys have any advice for me?

Fox622003

Gold Member
Well, for starters, I think NONE of the guys you mentioned change time signatures during solos. Second, the way I see it, there's two basic types of solos: Those mainly oriented towards drummers/musicians (because of either their musicality or technical aspect), and those which are mainly show-off/trick based. Most drummers usually play a mix of those. However, I personally hate drum solos - they are terribly boring. I'd much rather see a drummer play to a track, and do some whacky stuff (perhaps stuff they wouldn't do during a performance with other musicians). Something like THIS; impressive playing, and keeps everyone entertained, since there's some background music, and a natural flow.
There are exceptions to just drums being entertaining, but it's got to be either kept very musical, very technical, or very, very entertaining, perhaps a well rounded mix. And it's got to be short. Something like THIS.
I just don't suggest trying to tackle either of those performances; but in case you do, good luck.

Fox.

Last edited:

brentcn

Platinum Member
Hello everyone.