How tight is finger tight exactly?

dpk204

When they say to tighten the bass drum finger tight first, does that mean finger tight till you can't turn it by finger anymore or finger tight till the rod stops to wobble?

Biscuit

Finger tight untill you can't turn the screws anymore. Or at least that's my definition of finger tight.

Deathmetalconga

Platinum Member
Finger tight is just as tight as you can get something with your bare hand alone. If you are using more than just your hand, it is too tight. If you have to tense up your wrist, forearm or shoulder, that is too tight.

dpk204

I was confused because if you finger tighten till you can't tighten them anymore, that's actually pretty tight. If you finger tighten till there is no wobble, that is not really tight.

bobdadruma

Platinum Member
It is a grey area.
I work in the Automotive repair field and one of the hardest things that I do is to teach interns how to torque bolts.
Drums are the same way. You simply have to find your way by trial and error until you grasp the concept of finger tight.
The term finger tight is intended to mean that you should spin the tension rods with your fingers until you feel them tighten up a slight bit.

LukeSnyder

Gold Member
Finger tight is just as tight as you can get something with your bare hand alone. If you are using more than just your hand, it is too tight. If you have to tense up your wrist, forearm or shoulder, that is too tight.
Its not quite that simple, because your fingers are controlled by remote muscles in the forearm. You can't use your fingers without engaging the muscles in your forearms.

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
The term finger tight is intended to mean that you should spin the tension rods with your fingers until you feel them tighten up a slight bit.