How much "wrong" is still alright?

mrchattr

Gold Member
This thread is from a discussion that started in another thread, but it was after that thread stopped receiving a lot of views. This is just a personal opinion thread, I'm curious to see where people are at with this. The question is: how many mistakes are acceptable to you when performing live?

From when I started studying with teachers, I was always taught that mistakes are not acceptable. They weren't in middle school band, in high school marching band, in jazz band...perfection was expected. Now, we are all humans, so maybe one mistake in a long gig won't make me think it was a bad show, but more than that, and I am not content with my performance. I want to see what everyone else's personal standard is.

To clarify: When I say a "mistake," I mean something that is your fault. If your stick breaks and you miss one hit grabbing another one, that's not really your fault. Same if a head breaks or something crazy happens. I just mean a mistake that comes from you. It can be as big as falling out of a song entirely, or as small as missing the snare on 2, but being back on it for 4.

PQleyR

Platinum Member
I have long thought that a good musician is one who can make their mistakes like they were supposed to happen. If you can do that, it doesn't matter how many mistakes you make!

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member
Well since we are all human, we are going to make mistakes. And while practice makes "better" and not "perfect" some mistakes are going to happen. I don't think there is a number that is ok. There are big mistakes and small mistakes. I guess it would be up to you, and whom ever is in charge as to just what was acceptable and this will definitely vary from person to person. It would be a bigger mistake to one, put a number on it and two, to expect no mistakes. After all we are human, or did I say that already?

aydee

Platinum Member

Great question Jon..