How much should I charge for lessons?

AnOasis

I did a search but came up pretty empty. A few people have asked me to give lessons and this is actually something I've always been interested in doing. So, how much should I charge? Right now I would be teaching beginners, if not complete beginners. Thanks!

caddywumpus

Platinum Member
Figure out what other people in your area are charging for lessons. If not drum teachers, people that give lessons for guitar or piano or singing or whatever. It's totally dependent on location and the local economics. I'm assuming that you're not a celebrity and don't have a music degree, of course...

Also, you should consider charging less for your services since you're just starting out. Get a few years of teaching under your belt so that you figure it out before you start charging a comparable rate to the other, more experienced, teachers in your area. You don't want to cause irreparable damage to your teaching reputation by charging as much as the other teachers, but not offering at least the same level of quality of teaching.

For the record, I live in Portland Oregon and charge $40 an hour. I live in suburbia about 20 minutes outside of downtown. If my teaching studio were downtown, I would probably charge $50 an hour. My college professor charged $75 an hour, and some local "drumming celebrities" charge $100+ an hour. That's the economic situation here.

Good luck.

jeffwj

Platinum Member
I did a search but came up pretty empty. A few people have asked me to give lessons and this is actually something I've always been interested in doing. So, how much should I charge? Right now I would be teaching beginners, if not complete beginners. Thanks!
How much does your teacher charge? Since you are starting out and don't yet have the experience of your teacher, I would charge a bit less than him/her.

Jeff

Last edited:

k-train78