How much does stick size affect the ability to play fast?

Joffry

I’ve been playing 5bs exclusively for a few years now, and today I decided to try some 5as just for fun, and I found that I was able to play faster with less effort.

The downside was that I didn’t feel as in control as I do with 5bs. However, I believe that this was simply due to the fact that I have become well acquainted with 5bs.

My question is, how much of a factor do you guys think stick size plays in regards to speed?
Playing faster was more comfortable for me with 5as so I’m considering just using 5as exclusively from now on. On the other hand, many metal and fusion drummers use thick sticks (5b+) and still manage to play fast, so maybe I should just stick to 5Bs and just continue to gradually work my speed up.

Jeremy Bender

Platinum Member
Not so much of a factor as you might expect if you're hands are well developed.

Buddy Rich had blistering fast hands but used fairly thin sticks. Jim Chapin also had strong & very fast hands but used thicker sticks.

Guys today with great fast hands like D.Weckl, Steve Smith, Jo Jo Mayer don't use really thick sticks while fast heavy players like Jeff Queen or John Wooten do use thick sticks in their style of music.

In short... speed comes from years of practice and good technique. I would seek out a qualified teacher in your area if possible.

Last edited:

Hewitt2

Well I do find heavier sticks yield better rebound (which is closely tied to speed), by virtue of their mass. I find I have to work a lot more to have higher stick heights with lighter sticks.

Note that I have rather large and thick hands and playing with anything smaller than a 3A feels like I have chopsticks in my hand. With something like a 5A, I am squeezing and applying unnecessary tension as the sticks otherwise slide around. For me, a 5B provides a nice balance between comfort and mass.