How life circumstances have conditioned your playing

Shirai

Hey everyone, I don't post much on here but always enjoy reading the thoughts being discussed on this forum concerning the drums. Lately I've had an interesting observation that I thought worth sharing.

Throughout high school and college 80-90% of my drumming was done just by myself behind the kit, "practicing" alone. Thus whenever I would play with a band, whether in rehearsal, on stage, or in the studio, it was a real challenge to rein in my senses of time and taste to achieve musically pleasing / appropriate playing. Most of what I played with other musicians ended up being over-embellished and off-time. But man, did I develop some "chops!"

Once I graduated from college I didn't have room to set up my kit in the various places I lived, so the only opportunities I had to drum were when I was actually playing with other musicians, mostly at church. This phase of life has lasted about 6 years now. If I compare my playing now to what it was like in the previous phase, I find it to be much simpler, more solid, and more tasteful. All good things musically. Although, with days or even weeks elapsing between drumming opportunities, I really found myself missing the drums and spending a lot of time thinking about what I would be working on or messing with if I had some time alone with a kit. However, without opportunities to work those things out on my own, I found my playing style getting a little stale over the last year or two.