how do i know if im a progressive drummer?

Raghallaigh

i want to join a band and some people have asked me to join if i was a progressive drummer and i dont have a clue as to what that is, can anyone tell me?

theindian

As in progressive rock? Like the music of Yes, ELP, old school Rush and Genesis?
If so, Odd time signatures, thematic parts and more orchestrated playing, long instrumental breaks, and in general thinking outside the box of regular rock music. This kind of defines 70's heyday prog rock at its peak. It is similar to fusion.
There are newer bands and I'm sure many new bands have taken the music further, although I can think of only Dream Theater, Symphony X, and prog-metal bands like that.

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member
Yes, the question is more do you play or know Progressive music, than are you a progressive drummer.

synergy

I would say that as a general rule- If you have to ask then you are probably not a progressive drummer!

Same with being cool, Bonham, James Dean, Eastwood- they never asked if they were cool- they just were (are)

dairyairman

Platinum Member
some other modern prog or prog-ish bands are messhugah, opeth, and porcupine tree. i also think bands like dillinger escape plan and the mars volta could be considered progressive.

Pocket-full-of-gold

Platinum Member
Yes, the question is more do you play or know Progressive music, than are you a progressive drummer.
This one!!!

They're basically letting you know what genre' of music they'll be playing. Much like a jazz band seeking a jazz drummer as opposed to a rock drummer etc.

If you're not into the music or style, then I'd suggest you're better served either walking away or immersing yourself in some of the bands the guys here have mentioned and see if you can handle the style.

Ian

Silver Member
I support a lot of "progressive" issues, making me a "progressive" drummer.

Can only count to six, though.