How do I count this song?

Odowalt

Hey guys, I've been a sometime reader of this forum, first time poster!

Sorry if this is in the wrong section, but I was hoping someone could help me with how to count this beat.

A little background: I've been drumming for some time now, but I'm completely self taught and I never got in the good habit of counting when I first learned. So now when I need to count a part out, I'm having trouble (of course), but I'm trying to make up for lost time and learning it now.

I want to learn a part from the song Lethean by Katatonia
the chorus/intro double kick part specifically. I tried to write it out (also a first). I tried copying it over here, but it screws up the layout so I included a screenshot in stead.

Now I can play this part along by ear on feeling, but when I try to count it out, I get absolutely stumped by the china on every three beats. Is there some trick to counting this, or is it really just doing the 1 e & a and playing the china on the correct vowel?

Trying to improve myself, but it is hard trying to stick with counting when you can actually play it without counting ;)

Thanks!

Attachments

Dr_Watso

Platinum Member
I am in a rush out the door but it sounds pretty basic and I'd just count 4 and 16ths for this... Like the notation example you posted... That's your count up there. The trick is to listen a bunch of times and make sure you line up your notes within that 16th "grid".

Another note, I only count when I'm learning something, it's not a goal for most drummers to count all the time especially not when they play "for real".

Odowalt

I was afraid of that, dang, then I'll have to slow it down a lot to sync up my counting to my playing!

Yeah, I can play it by ear pretty well, but I explicitly want to get better at counting, so I'm going to just have to get to work :p

Thanks for the reply!

Last edited:

toddbishop

Platinum Member