Home vs gig

• Home

Votes: 22 36.1%
  • Gig

Votes: 50 82.0%

• Total voters

moojii

Hey

How many of you just play for fun at home and do recordings etc vs how many of you actually go out to gig.

Cheers

Reactions: RVC
I do all three! I’m a working drummer, though, meaning this is what I do for income. I’m working anywhere from 7-8 times in a slow month to 12-15 times in a busy month, with fairly regular recording sessions sprinkled in at various studios around town in my area.

My home setup is a quiet rig, mainly used due to close proximity to neighbors and a need to play late at night when Mrs. RVC and Abby the cat are asleep. It’s a fun little set, and helps me through the insomniac nights and the slow gig months.

Last edited:
Home is restricted to pad work although the furry purry one decides to invade my lap and that's the end of that. I'd never set a full kit up at home. I get on with my neighbours and I like it that way. Don't really want folk knowing they're there either.

I get the odd recording thing but gigging is what brings the money in.

Since I recently joined a band again, I play at home for practice but we are working towards gigs again, next one will be Whit Monday (y)

I have a small home studio with an electronic and acoustic kit setup ready to play.
I live in a detached house and never had complaints about the noise but usually play with RTOM mutes on the drums and silent Evans cymbals to keep the noise levels of the A kit low.

Last edited:
2 out of the 3.. don't consider sound files on Sound Cloud (thru a $13 Radio Shack table mic) , as "recording" (is but it isn't) But always ready to gig ( after a decent 2023 2024 is looking slow..) and try to play "at home" every day (little tough when weather in garage is chilly) and take note when I miss a day..

(should allow to choose both in your poll

Last edited: