...Hi, I'm new to this.

wraub

Hi, again...

I've been an on-and-off semi-pro bassist for the last couple of decades, but, full disclosure..?
I've always wanted to play drums. Literally, since I was ten or eleven years old...drums.
The band leader at grade school said, "Every kid wants to play drums!" and gave me a trombone.... Hence, bass.

Forward to now, after years of random hitting on kits in rehearsal rooms and practice sessions, the drum bug still beating on my head, and a chance thrift store find of a Sonor Force 2003 bass drum with two unmatching (to each other or the bass drum) Tama toms led me on an almost 3 years long journey to here...

I am now the owner of an actual drum set , and I am definitely enjoying every minute of it. :)

I have a very basic ten year old starter set of shells (upgraded to Evans heads), 3 different snare drums, 2 sets of cymbals (I lucked into a pretty good set, and a better set) and a full-time addiction. I am doing paradiddles while I drive...and I drive all day for my job. It's good. :)
I am learning about cymbals... lots there I didn't know.
And, I'm finding that I've improved as a bass player, with counting and anticipating the beat and just over all groovishness.

I hope I can keep learning, and keep growing as a musician, and as a drummer... It's really fun!
Drummerworld has been very helpful. Thanks for having me. :)

I'll resume lurking now...

Old Dog new Cans

wraub, you seem like you have a good grasp of things. Welcome to the site! TONS of good info and very helpful peeps here.

Any lessons in your future? Have you used YouTube much? Plenty of great videos.

Good Luck.

wraub

Thanks, I'm trying... so much to learn. :)
I do watch a lot of instructional vids, and youtube can be useful... I'm a fan of Rob Brown, but if you have suggestions please let me know. I am all about learning and growing.