Hi-hat stand and double kick pedal too close!

daktari

New to the forum, but I've been reading for a couple weeks.

I started playing when I was six years old, and although have not sat on a kit for about 20 years, I recently was invited to sit in with a buddy who plays some classic rock covers. Their drummer was not able to continue playing, but left his kit in the basement! So I'm using it as long he leaves it there. It's a couple steps up from the backup kit down there.

So here's my issue: I have size 17 feet. Which means they're wider than the pedals in the image. I'd like to have the hi-hat pedal farther away from the kick pedal, but the hi-hat leg is situated right where the kick pedal is. I've shortened the linkage for the kick pedal as short as it can be, which did help some by moving the hi-hat close to me for less of a reach. But I'd still like it closer. Basically, I'd like a couple inches of the hi-hat right over the snare.

I've even considered switching to a left hand hi-hat strike over this...

Can anyone offer pics of their setup or tips how to improve this one? Thanks!

Our current setlist:

Dreammare
The Bomber
Paranoid (Grand Funk Live)
Perfect Strangers
Lord of This World
Pretty as You Please (by Cry of Love)

zarrdoss

Gold Member
you might consider getting a 2 legged hi hat stand. Or if the legs swivel turn them slightly counter clockwise and put it behind the bass pedal and then get them farther apart.

Bonzo_CR

Silver Member
Agree, swivelling legs (or one less leg!) on the hihat stand can make double pedal placement easier.