Hi Drummerworld!

danondrums

I’ve lurked here for a while... Maybe even have an old profile from 20 years ago, haha.

I’ve owned drums and used them in public with bands at a mediocre (at best) level for the past 20 years while being constantly obsessed with them, but never enough time to practice at the super focused level one needs to practice to truly get great. This caused me all sorts of problems with work, relationships and such.

I made a decision a couple months ago to abandon all else and get as good at this as my natural born self can. So I’m studying with a couple different teachers, working through 6 different books as well as non-book concepts and practicing 40-60 hours/week to see what can happen. The elevation in playing has already been tremendous, but I’m still very far away from being able to play what I hear in my head, but with noticeable daily improvement the task is both uplifting and daunting simultaneously. Either way, the journey is fun.

My current setup includes mirrors, a GoPro camera and multi-track recorder in my studio to record and review playing daily.

I’ll share any worthy discoveries along the way but there are so many talented players here I will likely sit back and learn and make jokes where appropriate since I’m already really good at jokes. Haha.

On a side note, if there are some really old school drum forum people here you may remember me as drummerdan from drumheads.org

Happy to join the community here.

beatdat

Welcome back to the forum.