Help to the next step

synergy

Hi guys- just a little info on me

I have been playing in my band for about a year now- we play British covers. Self taught and I am able to hold done the 40 or so songs that we play- if not on the basic side for some of them.

I have the beat and groove down on these basic 4/4 pattern and I can do some of the fills.

I have been taking lessons now for a few months and I am finding myself quite frustated as I think I am just before the point of a breakthough. If that makes sense?

What I mean is that I now trying new beats and trying to make my own fills in songs- most of the time they dont work or are slightly off etc...

I think I am just moving out of newbie into seasoned haha and wondered if any of you guys had any tips or ideas that I could focus on?

I know that for most of the last year I have not practiced as much as I should have outside of my own bands practices..... something I am now rectifying.

Just wondered if there was something in your own learning curves that could help a not so newbie- newbie

LeeLovesSabian

Silver Member
Hi guys- just a little info on me

I have been playing in my band for about a year now- we play British covers. Self taught and I am able to hold done the 40 or so songs that we play- if not on the basic side for some of them.

I have the beat and groove down on these basic 4/4 pattern and I can do some of the fills.

I have been taking lessons now for a few months and I am finding myself quite frustated as I think I am just before the point of a breakthough. If that makes sense?

What I mean is that I now trying new beats and trying to make my own fills in songs- most of the time they dont work or are slightly off etc...

I think I am just moving out of newbie into seasoned haha and wondered if any of you guys had any tips or ideas that I could focus on?