Help Preventing Burning In Feet/Legs While Playing Double Bass

Anyone have tips, maybe with bass drum head tension, footboard height/angle, beater height/weight/angle or type, and maybe spring tension that will help with the burning I experience in the lowest front portion of my legs while playing fast double bass or beats?? I usually play heavy metal, do a good amount of stretching and warming up b4 I play, and I doubt it is my technique but all advice is great!!!!

joeysnare

Silver Member
how long have you been playing for? you might just be building the strength in your legs you need to play double bass passages. your never gonna lose that burning feeling if you play for a long time or particularly fast, but you will learn to deal with the pain and push through it as the years pass. drums are a very physical pass time, no pain no gain.

720hours World Record

I've been playing for 7 years and have been getting into heavier and faster double bass/metal drumming.
Give this a try, make your spring tension HARDER (you mentioned that and I agree), I know it sounds weird.

You said "and maybe spring tension that will help with the burning I experience in the lowest front portion of my legs while playing fast double bass or beats" so I assume those muscles are doing too much work lifting your foot and lactic acid is building up.

Making the spring tension tighter can give the front shin muscles a rest from lifting the foot, of course it will be harder to push down.

Let me know if it works OR let me know if I am NUTS.