Help needed please Pearl snare

John H jabconsl

Firstly I apologise - I am not a drummer, and I am in Australia, and I am old (71, and an old guitarist / singer) and it's time to get rid of the gear I have kept for years. I used to record my own backing tracks back in the early 90's but was never happy with the sampled snares. and just liked the sound of this one.
I am trying to identify this Pearl snare. It was part of a drum kit (the rest long gone), I bought for one of my sons many years ago, but he did not continue on.
It looks like a COB 70's, but I suspect it may be Chrome over Steel. It has 2 ridges. It is 14 x 5 inch and has 10 lugs. It is in excellent condition I think
Any help appreciated from the experts.
Any idea of Value (if any) in $AUD?)

Attachments

Last edited:

Al Strange

I’m no expert but it looks like a mint condition 1970’s COS MIJ? Many believe this to be the Copeland snare (although popular opinion is that his was a COB). The COS go for about £180? Not sure what that is in AUD? There’s bound to be someone on here who will confirm for you. All the best. (y) :D

Ransan

Ive been studying Jupiter snares (for a good reason I’ll get into later) as that is next on my list. Here’s my assessment in USD (my apologies) would be a around $150-$200 USD.

The snare you have is COS specifically that’s a D4514. Looking at the vent hole position at bottom of the shell under badge was last used around ‘72, the 73’ model uses same badge but vent is directly under Pearl badge, maybe little more value as it’s first gen with Gladstone, and the lever head is intact 👍. Studying the snare, I also gather the rule of thumb for that series was 3 ridges, parallel snare mechanics, and linkage rod through inner shell, and it was the COB Jupiter, 2 ridges like yours and it’s the COS.