Help me find a snare!

Help me find a snare! Update in first post.

I’m new to drumming but I am looking to upgrade from the cheap DDrums D2 snare that I have. All I can justifiably budget right now is about $300. I’m just starting out, so I’m not really playing anything, but my goal is classic rock and maybe a little metal.

I’m kind of getting discouraged by the fact that nearly every snare I’ve heard on-line or in person is unappealing. Is it possible to hate snares and just consider them a necessary evil when it comes to playing drums?

Interestingly, no matter what site I’m listening to, no matter the brand, size or type of shell, I always think the low tuning sounds by far the best, rarely like the medium, and think nearly every high tuned snare sounds awful.

One thing I’ve learned is I don’t like metal snares. Aluminum, brass, steel, bronze, it doesn’t matter. Today I got my hands on an Ludwig LM400, 13” Supralite, 6.5x14” Black Beauty Millenium, several metal Pork Pies, Tama 14” Metalworks, SLP 13” Sonic Steel and 8x14” Big Black Steel, and a cheap $69 GC special 13” Mapex piccolo.

Many were above my price range, but I still tried them out just to see what they were like. To my ear, the 14” Metalworks was the least metallic sounding of them all, and if I did go metal, it would likely be it.

Neither the LM400 Supraphonic or BB impressed, and I was amazed at the cheap feeling throw-off on a $750 drum. Quite honestly, I preferred the sound of the $69 Mapex piccolo to the BB. No, I'm not joking. The best sounding drum I tried today was an OCPD 7x13” Natural Ash. Actually, I kinda liked every OCPD wood snare I tried.

I also liked the sound of the 5x14” Saturn snare on the set I stupidly let slip through my fingers last weekend, and the best sounding snare I’ve tried was a Tama SLP Ltd Ed. 8x14” Bubinga. I can’t find that one listed anywhere, so I’m wondering if it was a Sam Ash special. However, its $500 price puts it out of reach right now.