Help me control my kick leg ... Please.

Vinny

The kick has been very frustrating the hell out of me. I'm really having trouble getting my leg to execute what I know and feel is the the beat, if that makes any sense. (I am a beginner)

I've always been able to feel the tempo/beat/groove. In fact, as a kid I drove people nuts because would always smack my hands on a table in perfect cadence with the snare and bass drum parts of a song. Open hand for snare and meaty part of my fist for bass.

To help explain, let me offer this example. The other day I was checking the spring tension on the kick pedal by pressing down with my hand. It just so happened that music was playing in the room. I started to follow the music with my hand manipulating the kick pedal. I was able to coordinate the bass drum strike in the song perfectly using my hand. But then I take a seat on the throne and it's like my leg/foot cant do it.

So why can't I do it with my leg/foot. It just won't cooperate. My hands work the snare and ride cymbal just fine. I've tried playing the bass drum by itself, but that's even worse.

Dr_Watso

Platinum Member
Before I can guide you, I need to know if you understand note-values. Do you know what I mean when I say quarter note, eighth note, triplet, 16th, etc?

GruntersDad

Administrator - Mayor
Staff member
(I am a beginner)

All things come to all people at different rates. Try clapping and matching the beat with your foot.

Hollywood Jim

Platinum Member
Interesting.......

If I were your teacher I would start you out with walking and dancing.

The ultimate goal is having all four limbs work independently. However, in the beginning you need to start out with right hand and right foot working together; and left hand and left foot working together. That way you start out with a simple division of only two parts, left side of your body and right side of your body. You have to master that first. Sounds like you did not start out at the beginning.

Mongrel