Votes: 0 0.0%
  • ISTANBUL Agop Xist Brilliant Set

• ISTANBUL Mehmet Samatya set

• Total voters

Anaon

Hi everyone!

I'm asking for your help because I'd like to upgrade my set of cymbals and I'm no expert at all.

All I know is that it's only for recording purposes and I like and want to get close to 70's classic rock/progressive rock (Led Zeppelin, Yes, Rush, Pink Floyd, etc...).

It seems that the Paiste 2002 were quite popular during the era but it's out of my budget. The Paiste PST7 range seems to be a good cheap alternative, what do you think? Is it true that the light range of the PST7 are the closest to the 2002?

My actual cymbals set is quite mismatched...
HH : Sabian AAX studio hats 14"
Crash 16" : Meinl Raker
Crash 18" : Istanbul Mehmet
Ride 20" : Meinl Raker

I thought about these packs so far:
PAISTE PST7 : https://www.thomann.de/fr/paiste_pst7_light_set_16_crash.htm
ISTANBUL Agop : https://www.thomann.de/fr/istanbul_agop_xist_brilliant_cymbal_set_pro.htm
ISTANBUL Mehmet : https://www.thomann.de/fr/istanbul_mehmet_samatya_cymbal_set_1.htm

What do you think?

Thank you for your help (y)

All I know is that it's only for recording purposes and I like and want to get close to 70's classic rock/progressive rock (Led Zeppelin, Yes, Rush, Pink Floyd, etc...).
I'd shop used. 499 euro/$554US is enough cash to dial in what you. Check out the Zildjian Armand series. Now discontinued, they replicate the Zildjian sound of the 60's/70's.

Also shop Paiste 2002 used. I found (in a matter of seconds on eBay) a 20"ride/16" crash/14" hats totaled 421 euro/$469US.

Side by side I prefer the sound of the medium-weight PST7 cymbals to the thin weight. The thin crashes are just a little too hollow-sounding to me, and lack some of the fullness of the PST7 mediums, and especially of the 2002s.

I'd shop used. 499 euro/$554US is enough cash to dial in what you. Check out the Zildjian Armand series. Now discontinued, they replicate the Zildjian sound of the 60's/70's.