Help a new drummer decide on cymbals plz!

Hi,

I'm a new drummer that is trying to assemble their first acoustic kit. Taking many experienced drummers' advice; I am not planning to cheap out on cymbals. This is what I am looking to pull the trigger on real soon;

1. Zildjian A Sweet Ride 21"

2. Zildjian 14" New Beat Hi-Hats

3. Zildjian 19" K Custom Dark Crash
Screen Shot 2020-03-26 at 12.41.15 PM.png

Knowing that you guys have a more experienced eye than I do, is there anything I should be wary about with these specific cymbals?

Thanks in advance! :)

larryace

"Uncle Larry"
On paper they sound great. Really great.

But it's kind of like saying that I want to date a girl named Carly.

Will I like a girl just because her name is Carly? There's much more to it than that.

Hopefully you can hear them, all together preferably...before you buy.

But the plan is a good plan.

You could go to mycymbal.com and listen with headphones to the cymbals you are considering to verify they are what you want.

I've had good luck (nine times) ordering from there by just listening to the videos, and trying to imagine if the exact cymbal I'm listening to is trigger-worthy.

Last edited:
On paper they sound great. Really great.

But it's kind of like saying that I want to date a girl named Carly.

Will I like a girl just because her name is Carly? There's more to it than that.

Hopefully you can hear them, all together preferably...before you buy.

But the plan is a good plan.
I understand what you are saying. Unfortunately, there is no way to hear these before I buy them (other than sound demos of the model on YT, which is how I decided the ones I like best). My question is more along the lines of "anything suspicious about these cymbals?". I'm at the stage where I don't know what I don't know haha

Just wanted to have a couple of players with a trained eye look at them just in case there's a glaring problem that I can't see :)

larryace

"Uncle Larry"